Blue Flag bonus


Adeje is the borough with the most Blue Flags in the province

Adeje can now boast four Blue Flag beaches, a reflection of the quality of the beaches, the water and the services. It is the borough with the most Blue Flags in the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, and along with Tías and San Bartolomé de Tirajana, each with four, is in the top group of the Canary Island zone. Altogether the region now flys 41 Blue Flags.

The beaches awarded the right to display this internationally recognised symbol of quality are Troya I-II, El Duque, Fañabé and Torviscas. It is a clear signal that Adeje is continuing to value and invest in quality for its tourism destination in all areas, from the hotel offer to ancillary zones, natural spaces and leisure activities. .

Flags awarded to Troya I-II, El Duque, Fañabé and Torviscas beaches

The Blue Flag Programme is owned and run by the non-government, non-profit organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Flags are awarded to beaches and marines that meet high standards in areas such as hygienic conditions, water quality, safety, environmental education and information, the provision of services and general environmental management. Beaches and marines are inspected by independent inspectors and flags are awarded or withdrawn annually. The flags are a mark of quality and recognise the effort in tourist destinations which work to defend sustainable development.

The Blue Flag is a voluntary eco-label awarded to more than 4000 beaches and marinas in 49 countries across Europe, South Africa, Morocco, Tunisia, New Zealand, Brazil, Canada and the Caribbean. In Spain almost 600 beaches and marines have won the right to fly the flag, a number which places the country in the top bracket.